Lunar Eclipse

This Lunar Eclipse, also known as “Blood Moon,” is also known as a “Supermoon,” and this year it occurs during a “Flower Moon,” because it occurs in May, during the peak of the flowers’ bloom in the northern hemisphere. Whatever you call it, it was spectacular here in the Big Bend due to amazingly clear skies on the night of May 15-16.

Eclipse at full coverage.
As the earth’s shadow begins to uncover the full moon.

Published by texasflashdude

Photography and Travel, specifically adventure travel and backpacking in remote North America, give me an excuse to stay outside. If kayaks, bikes, backpacks, Jeeps, archeology, geology and wildlife can be included, all the better. Having spent my life working in the fashion and photography industries, I love the unusual, the spectacular, and the beautiful. God has given us a wonderful world in which to live, and I try to open others’ eyes to its wonders. I have shared nearly 50 years of this indescribable wonder with my wife, Jodie, and we go everywhere together. I hope you will share some of our journey with us.

6 thoughts on “Lunar Eclipse

  1. I’m glad you were up and about. I had meant to go out and have a look myself, but our clear skies were no match for my early-to-bed routine. I have to say that new header photo is wonderful. I could look at that one on a daily basis; it would be wonderful on a wall. It reminds me of O’Keeffe, or maybe Canada’s Group of Seven landscape painters.

  2. Serious eclipse envy here in the northeast. Socked in with clouds and, like Linda, early bedtime would have made it a challenge to view. I guess the clouds did my sleep regimen a favor. So far I have only managed one eclipse shot and it was just a partial. Still red though.

Leave a comment