6 comments on “Back on the Mountain

  1. Bob,   Great photos and narratives.   Thanks for doing this for the rest of us.    Eldon   From: texasflashdude To: annwhitford@yahoo.com Sent: Thursday, July 2, 2015 9:39 PM Subject: [New post] Back on the Mountain #yiv9074522731 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv9074522731 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv9074522731 a.yiv9074522731primaryactionlink:link, #yiv9074522731 a.yiv9074522731primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv9074522731 a.yiv9074522731primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv9074522731 a.yiv9074522731primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv9074522731 WordPress.com | texasflashdude posted: “It’s July again, and that means time to train for this year’s backpacking trip to the high mountains. That means spending some time on the High Chisos trails in Big Bend National Park. And so, with a break in the weather (afternoon thunderstorms that usua” | |

  2. I haven’t a clue how I found your blog, but I’m delighted to have done so. I’m in League City, Texas, and much given to travel around the state. I enjoy our wildflowers as much as our history, so there’s lots to enjoy here. I was especially happy to see my favorite white prickly poppy included!

    Would you mind if I used your photo of the Century Plant in one of my upcoming blogs? I recently spent some time at Presidio La Bahia in Goliad, and am planning a post on two Century Plants I found there. It woud be great to show folks one in its native habitat, and well as introducing them to your blog.

    That’s one fine sunset you have for a background, too.

  3. Thank you for your comments, and your interest in native blooming plants. This year has been spectacular. I would be happy for you to use the century plant photo in your blog. Even though I am a professional photographer, I am always happy to honor requests to use copyrighted images, as long as a request is made in advance, just as you have done.
    i am somewhat familiar with Presidio La Bahia, being a native Texan, and I remember some very large century plants that were growing near the stone presidio. Haven’t seen them in years.
    I will log on to your blog and begin following.
    Thanks for visiting.
    Bob

  4. Hi, Bob ~ Thanks so very much for granting me permission to use your photo. It will be about a month from now, I’d say. I certainly will give credit, and link back here to your blog, so you’ll know in that way, too, that the post is up.

    Since I’m far more of a writer than a photographer, it always pleases me to introduce my readers to new, fine photographers they might like. And, it gives me a lot of pleasure to explore parts of the state I can’t easily visit through blogs like yours.

    • Thanks, Linda, for the kind words, and for feeling that one of my images would grace your fine writing. I love your image of the sun and palms at Matagorda on your blog. I also envy your ability to use the written word to evoke images and feelings so clearly. It helps others to experience our great state from their armchair. Great job. Thanks again.

Leave a Reply

